Schedule a free consultation


Naperville Underage Drinking Attorney

DuPage County Minor Alcohol Possession Attorneys

Underage Drinking Lawyer in Naperville, IL

Underage drinking charges, unfortunately, tend to come at a pivotal time in a young person's life. Most people charged with this offense are between the ages of 16 and 20 years old. Teens and young adults in this age range are usually in a transitional stage between childhood and adulthood. Underage drinking defendants may be applying for college or trade school and do not want to see their admission chances hurt by a criminal conviction, however minor. Others may be in school already and are worried about possible sanctions from their university or training program. While an underage drinking charge is typically a misdemeanor, it can still have a serious effect on the lives of those facing this charge.

Appelman Law LLC understands the impact an underage drinking prosecution can have on a young adult. Attorney Brett Appelman and our skilled legal team will take your underage drinking case very seriously. We know that fighting back against an underage drinking charge is a matter of protecting your future. Young people who are convicted of this charge may face serious sanctions, both from the court and from their educational institutions. Our goal is to minimize the impact of this case and to help you escape without a criminal record if at all possible.

Minor in Possession Charges for Juveniles

The good news is that if you are under the age of 18 years old, you will likely be charged as a juvenile for this offense. This means that your case will likely stay in juvenile, rather than adult, court. Juvenile cases are handled differently in Illinois. Rather than being found "guilty" or "not guilty," you will be considered "delinquent" or "not delinquent." You may face sanctions like a fine, community service hours, or required attendance at an alcohol education class.

Juvenile records are also kept more private than records from adult court. While records established in adult court remain forever public, juvenile records can be sealed. However, this does not mean that your case will not affect your future. Colleges and trade schools can consider your juvenile record, and you will still face sentencing. It is important to take an underage drinking charge seriously whether you are a juvenile or an adult.

Minor in Possession Charges for Young Adults

It can feel counterintuitive that you are enough of an adult to be charged as one, but not enough to legally possess beer. However, young adults between the ages of 18 and 20 years old can still be charged as an adult for possessing or transporting alcohol. Using a fake ID can result in additional charges.

It is best to be represented by an attorney if you are a young adult charged with "minor in possession". There can be quite a few variables in these cases, making it difficult to determine how serious your case is until it can be reviewed by a lawyer. Our experienced legal team will do all we can to minimize any impact this case will have on your life.

Exceptions to Underage Drinking Laws in Illinois

Illinois has several unique exceptions to underage drinking laws. Minors may drink alcohol in their home if their parent is present and actively supervising them. Students enrolled in qualified educational programs such as culinary classes may also taste -but not imbibe - alcohol under their instructor's supervision.

Contact a Naperville Underage Drinking Lawyer

Appelman Law LLC is committed to providing the best possible legal representation to those who are facing minor in possession charges. We will carefully review your case to seek out the strongest defense strategy available. You may have defenses you are unaware of that we as attorneys can use to protect you. To begin with a complimentary consultation, please contact us at 630-717-7801.

Back to Top