Illinois DUI – Levels of a DUI Charge
In Illinois, DUI (Driving Under the Influence) charges are broken down into several degrees based on the factors surrounding the arrest. If you drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or greater, you can be charged with DUI. The level of DUI you are charged with depends on your driving record, as well as certain “aggravating factors” that may be present at the time of arrest.
Aggravating factors include: driving under the influence with a minor under the age of 16 in the vehicle, DUI without a license or with a suspended license, DUI that results in great bodily harm or death, or a BAC level higher than .16.
Here are the levels of DUI in Illinois with the possible penalties for each level.
Class A misdemeanor
- Possible jail time of up to 1 year, as well as fines of up to $2,500.
Class 4 felony
- Possible imprisonment of 1-3 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Aggravated DUI involving injury — possible prison time of 1-12 years and fines of up to $25,000.
Class 3 felony
- Possible prison time of 2-5 years and fines of up to $25,000.
Class 2 felony
- DUI — Possible imprisonment of 3-7 years; fines of up to $25,000.
- Aggravated DUI with 1 death — Possible imprisonment of 3-14 years; fines of up to $25,000.
- Aggravated DUI with multiple deaths — Possible imprisonment of 6-28 years; fines of up to $25,000.
Class 1 felony
- Possible imprisonment of 4-15 years; fines of up to $25,000.
Class X felony
- Possible imprisonment of 6-30 years; fines of up to $25,000.
DUI Attorney in Naperville
As you can see, driving under the influence charges carry hefty fines, license revocation, and possible jail time. If you are pulled over or charged with a DUI, your best bet is to shut up, cooperate with the police and say you want to speak with a DUI attorney immediately.