Illinois, unlike some other states in the Midwest, requires first time DUI offenders to equip their vehicle with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in the wake of a drunk driving conviction. These devices are designed to ensure that a person cannot get behind the wheel if their blood alcohol concentration is above the legal limit. Today, we take a closer look at the device and the costs associated with BAIIDs after a DUI arrest.
BAIIDs in Illinois
A BAIID is commonly referred to as an ignition interlock device, and these pieces of equipment work by requiring the driver to blow into a breathalyzer inside their vehicle. The device is hooked up to the car’s ignition switch, meaning that the car will not start if a person blows over the court-ordered limit. Additionally, most of these devices have a built in camera that takes a picture of the driver while they are blowing into the device. This helps ensure that a passenger or friend isn’t blowing into the interlock device.
Even if it’s your first conviction, the state of Illinois requires that you install a BAIID in your car if you are allowed to drive during the period of statutory summary suspension. Assuming you are eligible to drive after your conviction, you must obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) and have a BAIID installed on your vehicle through the Secretary of State’s office. The office will monitor your driving during the duration of your permit. You can choose not to drive while your license is suspended and forgo the installation of an ignition interlock device, but if you are caught driving during your period of suspension, you’ll face a Class 4 felony.
A BAIID is also required as a condition of receiving your Restricted Driving Permit, which applies to anyone who has two or three DUI arrests on their record. If you have two or three DUIs on your record, you will need to use the BAIID for a period of five years before you can apply for full reinstatement. Anyone with more than three DUIs on their record will need to use a BAIID for the rest of their life if they choose to pursue a Restricted Driving Permit.
Equipping your vehicle with a BAIID isn’t a one and done expense. If you need to use the device for months or years, you’re going to be shelling out a lot of cash. Here’s how it breaks down:
- An $85 installation fee
- An $80 per month rental fee
- A $30 per month monitoring fee
So let’s imagine that you need to use an ignition interlock device for a year. By the end of 12 months, you’ll have spent a total of $1,400 for the device! Just another reason why you should seriously consider hiring a criminal defense attorney to challenge your case and help you beat the DUI charge.