Underage drinking comes with a strong set of penalties as is, but that problem can be greatly compounded if a teen gets behind the wheel after consuming a few adult beverages. Today, we take a closer look at how Illinois handles underage DUIs, and the penalties for committing the crime.
Teen DUIs in Illinois
Illinois has what’s know as a Zero Tolerance Law when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Since underage drinking is illegal, drivers under the age of 21 are not held to the same 0.08 standard as older drivers. If a driver is pulled over for an infraction and the officer uncovers through testing that the underage driver has alcohol in their system, the driver will have their license suspended. Don’t think you can get around the issue by refusing to comply with the breath test, as refusal will still result in a license suspension. If you blow over a 0.08 penalties will be even more severe. Here’s a breakdown of the penalties for underage drinking and driving.
Zero Tolerance, Under 0.08
- First offense – Driver’s license suspended for three months.
- Second offense – Driver’s license suspended for one year.
Zero Tolerance, Test Refusal/Failure to Comply
- First offense – Driver’s license suspended for six months.
- Second offense – Driver’s license suspended for two years.
Under 21, Over 0.08 or Over 0.05 with Additional Proof of Impairment
- First DUI offense – Minimum 2-year revocation of driving privileges.
- Second DUI offense – Minimum 5-year revocation of driving privileges.
If the driver’s license is suspended prior to the age of 21, the subject will be required to successfully complete a driver’s remedial education course to have their driving privileges reinstated.
Illinois Teens Rank Low in DUIs
Thankfully, underagers in Illinois are making the smart decision not to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. According to a recent study of the teen driving landscape across the country, Illinois has the second lowest number of teen DUIs, per teen population.